Human Rights and Democracy from Around Asia and Africa: Four Students Debut CNU’s First Global NGO Master’s Program

The four Global NGO Master’s Program students arrive at Gwangju Airport to fly to Jeju Island. From left: Tao Don Tajaroensuk, Stéphie Mélina Kabre, Shahed Kayes, and Dinesh KC.

Written by Anastasia Traynin
Photograph courtesy of Shahed Kayes, Class Leader

During the first semester of 2017, this writer had the opportunity to take an elective class with American writer, scholar, and longtime social movement activist Professor George Katsiaficas. In the course, I studied Katsiaficas’s two-volume book Asia’s Unknown Uprisings at Chonnam National University’s May 18 Institute. My four classmates came from various countries that possess histories of democratic uprisings, such as Gwangju’s May 18 (1980), yet rarely receive the attention they deserve. Here I’ll introduce the individual stories of my classmates coming to our city as the August 2016 inaugural class of the university’s two-year Global NGO Master’s Program (GNMP), supported by the May 18 Memorial Foundation. The four students were chosen from across Asia and Africa for their basic human rights knowledge and on-the-ground activist experience in their respective countries.

Shahed Kayes, Bangladesh
Published poet, prose writer, and human rights / environmental activist Shahed Kayes can often be seen at various human rights-related gatherings around Gwangju.

Back in Bangladesh in 2003, he founded the Subornogram Foundation, an organization working to educate children in marginalized communities, as well as promoting human rights, and environmental and public health awareness.